Read a back issue

photo of cherry trees by Meriç Dağli

Submissions Open for Chad Walsh Chapbook Series

The editors of the Beloit Poetry Journal are pleased to accept entries for 2022 Chad Walsh Chapbook Series. The series was established in 2017, with the support of the Alison W. Sackett Trust, in honor of former editor Chad Walsh. 

The poet whose manuscript is selected for the series will receive $2,500 and 50 copies of the chapbook and in-depth editorial consultation. The winning chapbook will be distributed to every BPJ subscriber and sold separately, in a print run of approximately 1,500. Previous titles in the series include Jacques J. Rancourt's In the Time of PrEP, Christine Gosnay's The Wanderer and Victoria C. Flanagan's Glossary of Unsaid Terms.

We will remain open for submissions through November 30. For more details, see our guidelines.

Stop by our new online shop to subscribe, buy a chapbook, or pick up an issue.


Our new issue has arrived! It features work by Rachel Abramowitz, Kemi Alabi, Rowyda Amin, Bridget Bell, Anthony Borruso, Kathryn Bratt-Pfotenhauer, Sarah Burke, Taylor Byas, Lauren Camp, Dante Di Stefano, Jehanne Dubrow, Jordan Escobar, B. H. Fairchild, Jessica Fisher, Daniel Elias Galicia, Katherine Gordon, Carrie Green, Jared Harél, Huan He, Maria Hummel, Anthony Immergluck, Rebecca Lehmann, Chloe Martinez, Carling McManus, Lena Moses-Schmitt, Monica Ong, Jennifer Polson Peterson, Gretchen Steele Pratt, Michael Prior, No'u Revilla, Monica Rico, Angbeen Saleem, Nicole Stockburger, Jason Tandon, Aldric Ulep, Corey van Landingham, Annie Woodford, and Lani Yu.

Cover image by Jeremy Yap.

Join the team as our new Associate Editor!

The Beloit Poetry Journal is seeking applicants for a newly created Associate Editor ("AE") position. The AE will engage in a wide variety of editorial, developmental, and strategic projects while joining a vibrant non-profit literary organization committed to publishing the best in contemporary poetry. The ideal candidate for this position is a person who wants to use their editorial and managerial skills to further the mission of a world-aware, progressive literary magazine. Find a complete job description here:

Join the Conversation!

We're excited to welcome O-Jeremiah Agbaakin to our new feature, BPJ Poets In Conversation. He spoke with us about his poem the passage: i, morpheus. amorphous., featured in our latest issue.

Natasha Trethewey Selects Taylor Byas as Winner of 2021 Adrienne Rich Award

Of Taylor Byas’s poem, Natasha Trethewey writes, “'Tell It Like a Movie | Rewind' is a stunning poem that unfolds like a near palindrome, the repetition of images and phrases drawing the action into sharp focus. Through its cinematic lens—the camera’s eye moving in and out of tight angles—a traumatic scene is rendered in harrowing detail, the tension palpable, heightening, and powerfully felt."

We’re grateful to the Adrienne Rich Literary Trust and to all who submitted poems for this year’s contest.

We Stand with the People

We stand with the people and with the many magazines and presses who have signed on to this statement written by the staff of The Offing, condemning anti-Blackness in publishing and the world, affirming the rights and righteousness of protestors, and calling on each of us to unlearn oppression.